Bourton, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Bourton, Dorset)

EnglandGotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.pngDorset Parishes

Guide to Bourton, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bourton, Dorset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Gillingham Liberty
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Mere PLU
Registration District Mere
Records begin
Parish registers: 1812
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shaftesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Royal Peculiar of Gillingham
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BOURTON, a chapelry in Gillingham parish, Dorset; on the verge of the county, 2½ miles SW of Mere, and 3 NNW of Gillingham railroad station. It has a post office under Bath. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Bourton, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1690
1690
1690
Images
1690-1699, 1810-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1830-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1989 Ancestry[5]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241341.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 04 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 19:33.
  • This page has been accessed 1,563 times.