Bow Brickhill, Buckinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Bow Brickhill, Buckinghamshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Bow Brickhill, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bow Brickhill, Buckinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newport
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Newport Pagnell
Registration District Newport Pagnell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newport
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office


Parish History

BRICKHILL (Bow), a village and a parish in Newport-Pagnell district, Bucks. The village stands near Watling-street, the river Ouzel, the Grand Junction canal, and the Bletchley and Bedford railway, 2 miles E of Fenny Stratford station.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bow Brickhill, Buckinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Bow Brickhill, Buckinghamshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1653-1869

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241218.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Bow Brickhill on GENUKI


  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed and adapted 28 May 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Buckingham, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 4 February 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2015, at 01:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,984 times.