Box Butte County, Nebraska GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Box Butte County, Nebraska)

United States Gotoarrow.png Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Box Butte County

Box Butte County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}


Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Box Butte County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Box Butte County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 23, 1887
County Seat Alliance
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Box Butte County Courthouse
515 Box Butte Ave. #203
Alliance, Nebraska 69301
Phone: 308.762.6565


Contents

County Information

Box Butte County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1886 1900 1886 1886

County Courthouse

Box Butte County Courthouse
515 Box Butte Ave #203;
Alliance, NE 69301
Phone:. 308.762.6565

County Clerk has marriage and land records.
County Judge has probate and court records.
Clerk District Court has divorce records. [2]

History

Parent County

1887--Box Butte County was created 23 March 1887 from Dawes County. County seat: Alliance [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Box Butte County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.


Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Box Butte County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Box Butte County, Nebraska Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Box Butte - Probate records.

Online Records

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Societies and Libraries

Nebraska Historical & Genealogical Societies


Nebraska State Genealogical Society

Box 5608
Lincoln, NE
68505-0608
Email- General Inquiry: conference@nsgs.org Website: The Nebraska State Genealogical Society (NSGS)


Nebraska State Historical Society
P.O. Box 82554
1500 R St.
Lincoln, NE
68501-2554
Phone: 402-471-3270
Website: Nebraska State Historical Society


Nebraska Military Historical Society
1330 N. Burlington Ave.
P.O. Box 1286
Hastings, NE
68901-1286


Nebraska Jewish Historical Society
333 S. 132nd St.
Omaha, NE
68154
Phone: 402-334-6442


North Central Nebraska Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 362
O’Neill NE
68763

Northeastern Nebraska Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 169
Lyons NE
68038

Northern Nebraska Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 362
O’Neill NE
68763

Northwest Nebraska Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 6
Alliance, Nebraska
69301

Nebraska Society of Mayflower Descendants Contact: Martin W. Beerman, Historian
Nebraska Society of Mayflower Descendants
19509 Frances Circle
Omaha, NE
68130-2982
Website: Nebraska Society of Mayflower Descendants


Museum of Danish America

4210 Main Street
PO Box 249
Elk Horn, IA
51531
Phone: 712.764.7008
877.764.7008 (toll free)
712.764.7010
Email: genealogy@danishmuse Website: The Danish Brotherhood/Sisterhood


BOX BUTTE COUNTY LIBRARIES

Alliance Public Library
Library in Alliance
1750 Sweetwater Ave, Suite 101
Alliance, NE 69301

Hemingford Public Library
Library in Hemingford
812 Box Butte, Box 6
Hemingford, NE 69348

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Box Butte County, Nebraska page 428, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 February 2016, at 00:39.
  • This page has been accessed 7,855 times.