Boxted, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Boxted, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Boxted, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Boxted, Essex
St. Peter Boxted, Essex .jpg
St. Peter Boxted, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lexden (Colchester)
County Essex
Poor Law Union Lexden and Winstree PLU
Registration District Lexden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dedham
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Boxted (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union of Lexden and Winstree, the Colchester division of the hundred of Lexden, N. division of Essex, it is 5 miles (N.) from Colchester. It is bordered on the north by the navigable river Stour. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Boxted, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[3]
FAMR = FamilyRelatives - (£)[4]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6][7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[10]
Boxted, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1559-1837


ESSEX
1558-1991
1558-1958
1558-1947
FAMR

1559-1837


FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
IGI 1558-1750
1560-1749


NBI



1760-1963
PALL

1790-1837


TGEN

1559-1837


Non-Conformist Churches
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241372.


Poor Law Unions

Lexden and Winstree Poor Law Union, Essex

'The lord of Boxted Hall held view of frankpledge in 1303, when the bailiff of the honor of Boulogne had 2s. from its profits. In 1641 the view elected one constable, one aletaster, and two supervisors and drivers of the common, and there were also surveyors of highways. Court business in the mid 17th century was generally restricted to land transfers, orders to maintain ditches and highways, and complaints of illegal encroachments on the heath. By 1648 there was a total absence of leet business and many defaulters.

'Courts baron were held irregularly by the second half of the 19th century, and ceased after 1909. The last admission to a copyhold was entered in the court books in 1912. The courts were originally held at Boxted Hall, but in 1881 legal advice was taken as to where to hold the court because the house had become separated from the manor and none of the remaining customary holdings possessed a suitable building.

'The courts leet at Rivers Hall in 1576 were probably medieval in origin. They had ceased by 1792 when courts baron were held. The last recorded court baron met in 1913, but enfranchisements continued into the 1930s and manorial rights finally lapsed in 1935. After the Hall became separated from the manor the courts were held at Cheshunts after 1859, and at the Cross inn from 1885.

'There were four overseers and two constables in 1756. The four surveyors recorded in 1759 had risen to 10 by 1768. The parish cage stood on a small green at Boxted Cross, from which Cage Lane takes its name.

'A poor rate was collected at Boxted in the later 16th century. In 1652 John Maidstone complained that he and others were unfairly rated. In 1776 a poor rate raised £134 os. 6d. Expenditure had increased to £466 8s. 2d. by 1801 and gradually increased to a peak of £1,523 6s. in 1821. Thereafter it fell, averaging c. £891 between 1822 and 1836. Boxted had a comparatively low level of poor relief per head of population throughout the later 18th and earlier 19th centuries. Outdoor relief was given to 27 people in 1813. In the same year 18 people received relief in the parish workhouse regularly and 5 occasionally. The workhouse, on the northeast side of Workhouse Hill, was probably demolished before 1838 when its site was Old Workhouse Yard.'[11]

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Boxted on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted: access date 7 May 2013
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  3. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  4. 'Essex Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  5. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  6. Batch P008131, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  7. Batch M008131, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  10. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.
  11. 'Boxted: Local government', A History of the County of Essex: Volume 10: Lexden Hundred (Part) including Dedham, Earls Colne and Wivenhoe (2001), pp. 65. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=15156 Date accessed: 12 February 2011.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 22:56.
  • This page has been accessed 10,868 times.