Boylestone, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Boylestone, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Boylestone St John the Baptist Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Uttoxeter|
|Parish registers: 1734|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Boylestone St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish in the county of Derbyshire.
BOYLESTONE (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Uttoxeter, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 6 miles (E. by N.) from Uttoxeter. The Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists have places of worship. 
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241287.
Boylestone parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials haveonline indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Boylestone St John the Baptist (1734) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1734-1897
Boylestone St John the Baptist
Derbyshire Record Office reference D1174 has deposited registers Bap 1734-1995 Mar 1734-1979 Burials 1734-1995 Banns 1754-1812, 1823-1981
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1660-1868 Mar 1660-1837 Burials 16601868
To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Wesleyan Methodists
- Primitive Methodists
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 12:29.
- This page has been accessed 2,591 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News