Bradfield, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Bradfield, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Strafforth and Tickhill|
|Poor Law Union||Wortley PLU|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
BRADFIELD, a parochial chapelry, in the parish of Ecclesfield, union of Wortley, N. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York, 6¾ miles (N. W. by W.) from Sheffield; containing 6318 inhabitants.
BRADFIELD (St Nicholas), a village, two hamlets, a township, a chapelry, and a subdistrict, in Ecclesfield parish, West Riding, Yorkshire, 6¾ miles (N. W. by W.) from Sheffield; The hamlets are Nether-Bradfield and Bradfield-Dale. The township includes also the hamlets or divisions of Bolsterstone, Brightholmlee, Dungworth, Fairest-Green, Holdsworth, Midhope, Moorwood, Onesacre, OughtyBridge-with-Gate, Smallfield, Stannington, Stoves, Ughill, Wigtwizzle, and Worral; The chaperly comprises only part of the township.There are district churches at Oughtibridge, Stainington, and Wadsley, and chapels at Bolsterstone and Midhope; There are places of worship for Independent and Wesleyan Methodist.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Bradfield exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)|
|BRADFIELD CHAPELRY (1539) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464276.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 326-331 Date accessed: 23 December 2013.
- ↑ John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. (1870). Date accessed: 14 Oct 2013.
- ↑ 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 27 October 2014.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.
- This page was last modified on 2 May 2015, at 20:48.
- This page has been accessed 4,291 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News