Bradley, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Bradley, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Bradley, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bradley, Derbyshire
Bradley Church Derbyshire.jpg
Bradley Church Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Appletree
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Ashbourne
Registration District Ashbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1579
Bishop's Transcripts: 1673
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashbourne
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRADLEY (All Saints), a parish, in the hundred of Appletree, union of Burton-upon-Trent, S. division of the county of Derby, 3 miles (E. by S.) from Ashbourn. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241287.


Church records

Bradley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials haveonline indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Bradley All Saints (1579) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE

To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click Llist contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District

  • Ashbourne

Poor Law Unions

Ashbourne Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bradely on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 331-334. Date accessed: 26 April 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 January 2016, at 02:21.
  • This page has been accessed 2,326 times.