Bradwell by Coggeshall, EssexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Essex Gotoarrow.png  Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png  Bradwell by Coggeshall

Guide to Bradwell by Coggeshall, Essex family history and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Holy Trinity Church, Bradwell Essex HolyTrinity.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Bradwell by Coggeshall or Bradwell-Next-Coggeshall (Holy Trinity), is a parish in Braintree district, Essex; on the river Blackwater, it is 2 miles W of Coggeshall, and 4 miles E by S of Braintree railway station. The post office is Coggeshall, under Kelvedon.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Bradwell by Coggeshall Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1704
1704
1704
Images 1704-1923 EssexAncestors[2] 1708-1837 EssexAncestors[2] 1704-1846 EssexAncestors[2]
Indexes 1704-1754 FindMyPast[3] 1704-1817 FindMyPast[4]

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office includes parish registers , Bishop's transcripts and Monumental Inscriptions for Holy Trinity and registers for the Convent of the Good Shepherd Glazewell.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241379.


Poor Law Unions

Braintree Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Wilson, John M., Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted: access date 7 May 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:59.
  • This page has been accessed 4,050 times.