Brampton, DerbyshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Brampton, Derbyshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brampton, Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Chesterfield PLU
Registration District Chesterfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1658
Bishop's Transcripts: 1665
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Brampton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRAMPTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Chesterfield, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 3 miles (W. by N.) from Chesterfield; containing, with Cutthorpe township. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241296.

Church records

Brampton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Bramptom St Peter and St Paul (1658) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1659-1883
  NONE
1658-1912
  NONE
1658-1905
  NONE

Brampton St Peter and St Paul is known as Old Brampton and includes Cutthorpe and Wigley. In 1832 part of this parish was added to Brampton St Thomas. 

Derbyshire Record Office reference D947 has deposited registers Bap 1658-1959 Mar 1658-1929 Burials 1658-1905 Banns 1823-1996

From this parish were formed:

Brampton St Thomas, Derbyshire in 1832 with eastern part of Old Brampton parish and from the parish of St Mary and All Saints Chesterfield, Derbyshire Walton, Holymoorside and part of Newbold. A chapel of ease to this parish was built in 1841 at Holymoorside. Newbold with Dunstan was created in 1861 and part of this parish transferred with others forming later in the 20th century.

Derbyshire Record Office reference D2443 has deposited registers Bap 1832-1999 Marr 1832-1992 Bur 1832-1974 Banns 1832-1908, 1924-1941,1950-2000

Brampton St Mark  parish formed in 1939 from Brampton St Thomas, Derbyshire

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 4761 has deposited registers Banns 1962-1992


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District

  • Chesterfield

Poor Law Unions

Chesterfield Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 339-343. Date accessed: 12 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 April 2014, at 21:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,175 times.