Bramshaw, WiltshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Bramshaw, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cawden and Cadworth; Redbridge
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union New Forest PLU
Registration District New Forest
Records begin
Parish registers: 1597
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop and the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office


Contents

Parish History

BRAMSHAW (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of New Forest, partly in the hundred of Cawden and Cadworth, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of Wiltshire, but chiefly in the N. division of the hundred of New Forest, Romsey and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 3 miles (N.) from Stony Cross; containing, with the hamlets of Furzley and Brook, and the extra-parochial places of Eyeworth-Lodge and Amberwood-Cottage. There are places of worship for Calvinists and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bramshaw, Wiltshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
Bramshaw, Wiltshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1597-1812 1597-1638, 1656-1812
NIM
1597-1837


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464193.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 343-347. Date accessed: 26 April 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  3. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 June 2014, at 20:56.
  • This page has been accessed 628 times.