Brandesburton, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Brandesburton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Skirlaugh PLU|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1598|
|Rural Deanery||North Holderness|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Provost of the Collegiate Church of St John, Beverley; Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
BRANDSBURTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Skirlaugh, N. division of the wapentake of Holderness, E. riding of York; containing 718 inhabitants, of whom 34 are in the township of Moortown, and 684 in that of Brandsburton, 8½ miles (N. E.) from Beverley. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans, and another used alternately by the Independents and Primitive Methodists.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Brandesburton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|BRANDESBURTON PARISH (1558) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464220.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 2 May 2015, at 20:54.
- This page has been accessed 3,592 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News