Branston, St Saviour, Staffordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Branston St Saviour

Contents

Parish History

Branston St Saviour is an Ecclesiatical Parish formed in 1870 from part of Burton upon Trent Christ Church, Staffordshire and covered the village of Branston and part of Burton upon Trent.

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Branston like this:

BRANSTONE, or Branson, a township in Burton-upon-Trent parish, Stafford; on Icknield-street, the Grand Trunk canal, and the Midland railway, 2 miles SW of Burton-upon-Trent. It has a post office under Burton-upon-Trent. Acres, 1,490. Real property, £4,394. Pop., 542. Houses, 111.

Branston is famous for the original recipe of a pickle which became a commercial manufacture at works on the Branstone Road at the edge of the village and on the road to Burton upon Trent.

Branston Pickle is made from a variety of diced vegetables, including swede, carrots, onions, cauliflower and gherkins pickled in a sauce made from vinegar, tomato, apple and dates with spices such as mustard, coriander, garlic, cinnamon, pepper, cloves, nutmeg and cayenne pepper with sugar. In recent years high-fructose corn syrup has replaced sugar in the product sold in the American market. Sugar is still used in the British version.

Branston Pickle is sweet and spicy with a chutney-like consistency, containing small chunks of vegetables in a thick brown sticky sauce. It is commonly served as part of a ploughman's lunch, a common menu item in British pubs. It is also frequently combined with cheddar cheese in sandwiches, and most sandwich shops in the UK offer "cheese and pickle" as an option. It is available in the standard 'chunky' version, as well as a 'sandwich' variety, where the vegetable chunks are smaller and easier to spread.


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Staffordshire BMD includes registered births for the Burton upon Trent Registration District . http://www.staffordshirebmd.org.uk/cgi/birthind.cgi?county=staffordshire

Church records

Branston St Saviour was formed in 1870 from part of Burton upon Trent Christ Church, Staffordshire

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1868-1972 Mar 1871-1995 Bur 1870-1993
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts no holdings


Census records

Poor Law Unions

Burton upon Trent Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Branston,_Staffordshire

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_Saviour%27s,_Branston



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:40.
  • This page has been accessed 1,347 times.