Brant Broughton, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Brant Broughton, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Brant Broughton, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Brant Broughton, Lincolnshire
Brant Broughton St Helen Lincolnshire.jpg
Brant Broughton St Helen Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Loveden
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Newark PLU
Registration District Newark
Records begin
Parish registers: 1710
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Loveden
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Brant Broughton St Helen is an Ancient Parish and imcludes Little Stapleford.

The church is 13th century in origin with heavy restoration in 1874 with the demolition of the chancel and replacement built by  George Frederick Bodley between 1874 and 1876.

The spire which was reduced in height in 1897 is visible for miles around in the flat landscape.

The village had an old Society of Friends Meeting House and burial ground from the 1800's.

The Wesleyan Methodist chapel built an 1812 chapel which was replaced in 1858 by a larger one, which contains a datestone 1862.

"BROUGHTON, BRANT (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of Newark, wapentake of Loveden, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 8 miles (E.) from Newark."[1]
Brant Broughton Wesleyan Reform Chapel Lincolnshire.jpg

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Bassingham sub-district of Newark Registration district.

This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district
Following re-organisation of local government historical registration was transferred to Lincolnshire
Certificates can be obtained from:
Lincolnshire
Certificate Applications
PO Box 760
Lincoln
LN2 5WG
Phone: 01522 782244

Email: regist@lincolnshire.gov.uk

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Brant Broughton Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Brant Broughton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438756.


Poor Law Unions

Newark Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/BrantBroughton/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 409-412. Date accessed: 10 August 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 April 2015, at 18:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,436 times.