Bratoft, LincolnshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Poor Law Union||Spilsby PLU|
|Parish registers: 1685|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1563|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
Bratoft St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish in the hamlet of Bratoft.
The church is a small mediaeval sandstone building built in 1747 which was restored in 1890.
Bratoft is the birth place of John Scott, a translator of the bible born in Bratoft in 1747 and the church possesses 'poppy head' bench ends, and also an allegorical painting of the defeat of the Spanish Armarda.
The parish register dates from 1685.
"BRATOFT, or Braytoft, a parish in Spilsby district, Lincoln; on the East Lincoln railway, 1 mile SW of Burgh station, and 4½ E by S of Spilsby. Post Town, Burgh, under Boston."
This parish was in the Burgh sub-district of Spilsby registration district
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,
St Rumbold Street
Enquiries: firstname.lastname@example.org The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Bratoft Par 1 will identify available images.
Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bratoft
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438762.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 20:00.
- This page has been accessed 1,250 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Give feedback on our new look! Tell us what you like, and what you would do differently.Give Feedback