Brauncewell with Dunsby, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Brauncewell with Dunsby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Brauncewell with Dunsby, Lincolnshire
All Saints Brauncewell Lincolnshire.jpg
All Saints Brauncewell Lincolnshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Flaxwell
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Bourne; Sleaford PLU
Registration District Sleaford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1626; Separate registers exist for Dunsby beginning 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561; Separate records exist for Dunsby beginning 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aswardhurn with Lafford
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Brauncewell All Saints is a 13th century church and a listed building which includes a 10th century Saxon grave cover.

The ecclesisatical parish was formed in 1718 when the two Ancient parishes of Brauncewell and Dunsby were united. The parish includes the remains of the deserted mediaeval villages of Brauncewell (to the west of the modern village) and Dunsby to the east and south of the modern Brauncewell.

BRAUNCEWELL (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Sleaford, wapentake of Flaxwell, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 4¾ miles (N. N. W.) from Sleaford. The parish is situated on the road from London to Lincoln; and, including the hamlet of Dunsby." [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Brauncewell Par 1 and Dunsby Par 1 will identify available images.

Search FamilySearch Catalogue Brauncewell with Dunsby

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438756.


Poor Law Unions

Sleaford Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Brauncewell/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 347-350. Date accessed: 10 August 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 April 2015, at 18:26.
  • This page has been accessed 2,487 times.