Brechfa, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Brechfa, Carmarthenshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngBrechfa

A guide to genealogy in Brechfa, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Brechfa is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

BRECHVA (BRECHFA), a parish, in the union of LLANDILO-FAWR, higher division of the hundred of CATHINOG ... 11 miles (N.E.) from Carmarthen. This parish is pleasantly situated on the river Cothy, a stream abounding with excellent trout, and in a beautifully romantic valley, surrounded on all sides by lofty hills of varied aspect, among which is plenty of game. The soil is fertile; and the lands, which are all inclosed, are in a good state of cultivation. A turnpike-road, connecting the counties of Cardigan, Carmarthen, and Glamorgan, has been constructed, which, passing through the parish, has materially contributed to the increase of population. The church, dedicated to St Teilo, and situated at the extremity of the parish, upon the little river Pib, is a small plain edifice, without either tower or spire. There is a place of worship for Calvinistic Methodists.[1]

For more information on Brechfa see Brechfa at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464307.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 92-125. Adapted. Date accessed: 10 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 565 times.