Bredbury, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Bredbury, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Bredbury, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Bredbury, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockport Borough
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Stockport
Registration District Stockport
Records begin
Parish registers: 1847
Bishop's Transcripts: 1879
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office


Parish History

Bredbury is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1846 from Stockport [St Mary] Ancient Parish.

BREDBURY, is a township-chapelry in Stockport parish, Cheshire; it is adjacent to the Peak Forest canal, 2 miles ENE of Stockport railway station. The post town is, Stockport. There is an Independent chapel.[1]


Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241242.

Church Records

Bredbury St Mark parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Bredbury St Mark Parish (1817) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1817-1912
FS BT'S 1879-1892   NONE

 Here is a list of Bredbury parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers, Cheshire Record Office: P258/4867/1-3, 23-25; P258/1/1-12.

Parish registers for Bredbury, 1847-1981 Film
Baptisms, 1847-1945. Marriages, 1849-Sep. 1872.
2186908 Items 2 - 7
Marriages, Sep. 1872-Aug. 1903.
Marriages, Aug. 1903-1953. Burials, 1848-May 1964.
Burials, Nov. 1963-1981.
2186911 Item 1

Bishop's transcripts, Cheshire Record Office: EDB 33

Bishop's transcripts for Bredbury, 1879-1892 Film
Baptisms, burials, 1879-1888, 1890-1892.
1647366 Item 2
Another filming, 1990.
1656840 Item 2
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congretational

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Stockport (1837-1936)

Poor Law

  • Stockport

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers


Bredbury on GENUKI


  1. John Marius Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 8 February 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 June 2015, at 01:43.
  • This page has been accessed 2,243 times.