Bridge Sollers, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Bridge+Sollers St+Andrew Herefordshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

The parish church of St Andrew bridge Sollers has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Bridge Sollers Wikipedia for origin of the place name.

Bridge Sollers St Andrew is an Ancient Parish in Herefordshire; the civil parish is Bridge Sollers.


BRIDGE-SOLLERS (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Weobley, hundred of Grimsworth, county of Hereford, 6½ miles Northwest of Hereford. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this area was part of Weobley registration district

Certificates may be obtained from
Herefordshire
The Register Office
Town Hall
St. Owens Street
Hereford
HR1 1RJ
Phone 01432 260565

Fax 01432 261720

Email registrars@herefordshire.gov.uk

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

Herefordshire Archives Harold Street Hereford HR1 2QX England Tel: 01432 260750 Fax: 01432 260066 Email: archives@herefordshire.gov.uk Website: here

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Bridge Sollars

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288817.

See Herefordshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Weobley Poor Law Union, Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 362-369. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 April 2014, at 04:22.
  • This page has been accessed 663 times.