Brigsley, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Brigsley, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Brigsley, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brigsley, Lincolnshire
Brigsley St Helen Lincolnshire.jpg
Brigsley St Helen Lincolnshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bradley Haverstoe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Grimsby PLU
Registration District Caistor
Records begin
Parish registers: 1722
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Grimsby
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Brigsley St Helen is an Ancient Parish in North East Lincolnshire.

The church dates from the 11th century with 13th-14th century and subsequent extesnion and restorations and has been designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage.

The village and civil parish of Brigsley are to the south of Grimsby and one mile south of Waltham, Lincolnshire parish

BRIGSLEY (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of Caistor, wapentake of Bradley-Haverstoe, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 5 miles (S. by W.) from Great Grimsby.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Grimsby sub-district of Caistor registration district until 1890 reorganisation when it became part of Grimsby registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Brigsley Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Brigsley

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438762.Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Initially part of Caistor Poor Law Union,Lincolnshire until 1890 reorganisation it became part of Grimsby Poor Law Union, Lincolnshre

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Brigsley/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 375-379. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.

British Listed Building Brigsley


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:22.
  • This page has been accessed 2,421 times.