Brington, Northamptonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Brington, Northamptonshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Northamptonshire Gotoarrow.pngNorthamptonshire Parishes

Guide to Brington, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brington, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nobottle-Grove
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Brixworth PLU
Registration District Brixworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1706
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Haddon
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRINGTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Brixworth, hundred of Newbottle-Grove, S. division of the county of Northampton, 7 miles (N. W.) by W.) from Northampton. There is a place of worship for dissenters.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Brington, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
Brington, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1560-1845 1569-1862 1573-1862

Marriages from 1639 to 1700 are indexed in Northamptonshire Marriage Index Pre-1700 (2nd ed.). FHL British CD-ROM no. 5489; publisher's bookstore.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438879.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 31 December 2013.
  2. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 May 2015, at 16:18.
  • This page has been accessed 2,024 times.