Bristol St Nicholas with St Leonard, Gloucestershire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Bristol St Nicholas with St Leonard, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Bristol St Nicholas with St Leonard, Gloucestershire|
|Poor Law Union||Bristol Incorporation PLU|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1670|
|Diocese||Gloucester and Bristol|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Gloucestershire Record Office|
Bristol St Nicholas with St Leonard is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Gloucestershire, created in 1766 from Bristol St Nicholas Ancient Parish and Bristol St Leonard Ancient Parish.
The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Bristol, but the exact parish has not been identified: Baptist, Calvinistic Methodist, Christians, Countess of Huntingdon Methodist, French Protestant, Jewish, Methodist, Moravian/United Brethren, Presbyterian, Society of Friends/Quaker, Swedenborgian/New Jerusalem/New Church, Unitarian, and Wesleyan Methodist.
Other places in the parish include: Bristol St Leonard. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)|
|BRISTOL ST LEONARD PARISH Online Records|
|BRISTOL ST NICHOLAS PARISH Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288783.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ http://maps.familysearch.org/
- ↑ 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
- This page was last modified on 7 June 2015, at 01:33.
- This page has been accessed 2,599 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News