Briton Ferry, Neath Port TalbotEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Briton Ferry, St. Mary's is a parish.
BRITON-FERRY, a parish, in the union and hundred of Neath, county of Glamorgan, South Wales, 2 miles (S. W. by S.) from Neath. This place, called in the Welsh language Llansawyl, derives its name from an ancient ferry over the river Neath, established here from time immemorial, and communicating with the opposite shore, from which there is an agreeable ride over Cremyln Burrows to Swansea. The Neath here expands into a channel of considerable breadth, and falls into Swansea bay, a little below the harbour. Nothing can surpass the beauty of this sequestered spot: embosomed in hills, skirted by shady woods, fertile vales, and luxuriant meadows, the scenery is strikingly diversified. In some parts are fine views of the sea, from which the woods seem to rise. The atmosphere is mild and temperate, and the air salubrious. The church is a neat structure, about sixty feet long and twenty wide, and the churchyard, remarkable for its picturesque appearance. At Giant's Grave is a day school on the British system, established in 1842, and supported by subscription; also a Church Sunday school, and a Sunday school connected with the Independents. In another part of the parish is a Sunday school kept by the Calvinistic Methodists.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Several Internet sites list names or indexes to the records, including:
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Census for the entire country was started in 1841 and continued every ten years. The most recent census available to the public is 1911. Learn more about these records by reading the census article.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464330. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Glamorgan Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in Wales. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. Here is a link to a web site with gazetteers and maps.
Click here to see a list of communities in Briton Ferry, St. Mary's.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 16 January 2014, at 18:52.
- This page has been accessed 443 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More