Brize Norton, OxfordshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Brize Norton, Oxfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Brize Norton, Oxfordshire|
|Poor Law Union||Witney PLU|
|Parish records: 1548|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1682; 1721|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford|
|Location of Archive|
|Oxfordshire Record Office|
NORTON, BRIZE (St. Brise), a parish, in the union of Witney, hundred of Bampton, county of Oxford, 5 miles (W. S. W.) from Witney. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Brize Norton, Oxfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|Brize Norton, Oxfordshire Parish Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474571.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:02.
- This page has been accessed 393 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Give feedback on our new look! Tell us what you like, and what you would do differently.Give Feedback