Broad Blunsdon, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Broad Blunsdon, Wiltshire)

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Broad Blunsdon, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Broad Blunsdon, Wiltshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Highworth, Cricklade and Staple
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Highworth and Swindon PLU
Registration District Highworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1680
Bishop's Transcripts: 1585
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cricklade
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Highworth
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BLUNSDON (Broad), a chapelry in Highworth parish, Wiltshire; 3½ miles SE of Cricklade, and 4 N of Swindon railway station. It includes thetything of Bury-Blunsdon.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Broad Blunsdon, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[2]
Broad Blunsdon, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NIM
1585-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464197.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  2. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 May 2015, at 11:06.
  • This page has been accessed 1,990 times.