Broad Clyst, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Broad Clyst, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Broad Clyst, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||St Thomas PLU|
|Registration District||St Thomas|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
BROAD CLIST, a village, a parish, and a subdistrict in St. Thomas' district, Devon. The village stands on the river Clist, adjacent to the Bristol and Exeter railway, 5 miles NNE of Exeter; and has a station on the railway, and a post office‡ under Exeter.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Broad Clyst, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Broad Clyst, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241305.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Broad Clyst on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 25 June 2015, at 18:02.
- This page has been accessed 3,288 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News