Broadbottom, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Broadbottom, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Broadbottom, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Broadbottom, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Ashton under Lyne PLU
Registration District Ashton under Lyne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1889
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office
"

Contents

History

BROADBOTTOM, a suburb of Mottram, in Mottram parish, Cheshire; 3 miles W of Glossop. It has Mottram r. station and a post office under Manchester.

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Broadbottom, in Tameside and Cheshire | Map and description, [http://visionofbritain.org.uk/place/26279 [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241238.


Church records

Broadbottom St Mary Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Broadbottom St Mary Parish (1890) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1890-1909
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S   NONE
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for St. Mary, Broadbottom, Cheshire, 1889-1995 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P25/5345/1.

Parish Registers: St. Mary, Broadbottom
Film
Baptisms, 1889-1995.
2106998 Item 4
Non-Conformist Churches

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Poor Law

Not Known

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Broadbottom on GENUKI

References

  1. A Vision of Britain through Time.] Date accessed: 06th January 2014

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 June 2015, at 01:39.
  • This page has been accessed 706 times.