Brompton, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Brompton

Brompton, Middlesex family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brompton Holy Trinity

Contents

Parish History

BROMPTON, is a hamlet with two chapelries, in the parish of Kensington, the hundred of Ossulstone, and county of Middlesex. A chapel of ease was erected in 1769; and a district church, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, for Old and New Brompton, and Little Chelsea, was built by 1829. The Independents have a chapel in the parish.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Brompton Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
1830
.
Images
Indexes 1830-1837 FindMyPast[2]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection. Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Non-Conformist Churches

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438806.

1666 Hearth Tax


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Holy Trinity Brompton Church

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.
  2. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' FindMyPast, accessed 8 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 04:16.
  • This page has been accessed 4,710 times.