Bryngwyn, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Brongwyn, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngBryngwyn

A guide to genealogy in Bryngwyn, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Bryngwyn is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales. The village is in the community of Beulah.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

The village was formerly known as Brongwyn.

Contents

History

BRONGWYN (BRYN-GWYN), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of TROEDYRAUR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 1½ mile (N.N.W.) from Newcastle-Emlyn, on the road from Llanbedr, through Atpar, to Cardigan. This parish, the name of which implies the White Mount, is pleasantly situated near the beautiful vale of Teivy, of which, in some places, it commands a fine prospect. The parish is enclosed, and the land in a good state of cultivation and tolerably productive. The church is dedicated to St. Mary. There is a place of worship for Independents. Near the church is a very strong intrenchment, called the Gaer, a name common to fortifications of this description, of which there are many in this part of the principality.[1]

For further information see Bryngwyn at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305.

Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 130-134. Adapted. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 January 2014, at 17:35.
  • This page has been accessed 513 times.