Bronington, WrexhamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngWrexhamGotoarrow.pngBronington

A guide to genealogy in Bronington, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; ...

Bronington is a village, ecclesiastical parish and community in the County Borough of Wrexham in Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Flintshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Clwyd. In 1996 it became part of the modern County Borough of Wrexham.

Contents

History

The parish of Bronington lies in the former detached part of the ancient county of Flintshire and was created in 1836, from part of the ancient parish of Hanmer.

The parish church of Holy Trinity (which was at one time known as New Fens Chapel) was converted from a former brick tithe barn in 1836 and later extended in 1863.

In 1872 the township of Bettisfield became a separate parish.

To the south of the village is Fenn's Moss, a large area of peat bog which is an important National Nature Reserve, rich in wildlife. This was formerly a major source of peat for fuel and later horticulture.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Flintshire (detached)
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd
from 1 April 1996, Wrexham

Records

Civil Records

Births, marriages and deaths in Bronington are recorded in the GRO indexes as:

Years Sub-district District Volumes
1 Jul 1837 - 31 Sep 1935 Hanmer Ellesmere XVIII (1837-1851)
6a (1851-1930)
1 Oct 1935 - 31 Dec 1953 Overton 11b (1935-46)
8A (1946-53)
1 Jan 1954 - 1974 Maelor 8A (1954-74).

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464323.


Church Records

The following Bronington Parish Registers have been deposited at the Flintshire Record Office in Hawarden:

Baptisms 1837-1972
Marriages: 1852-1970
Burials 1837-1921

There are no official I.G.I. entries for Holy Trinity, Bronington.

Poor Law Union Records

Bronington was part of the Ellesmere Union when it was created on 14 November 1836. The workhouse was built in Haughton, Ellesmere. The records for the Ellesmere Union are held at Shropshire Record Office in Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England.

Cemeteries

 

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:18.
  • This page has been accessed 2,609 times.