Broomfield, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Broomfield, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Broomfield

Guide to Broomfield, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Broomfield, Essex
St Mary, Broomfield, Essex .jpg
St Mary, Broomfield, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chelmsford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Chelmsford PLU
Registration District Chelmsford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1546
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chelmsford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Broomfield (St Mary the Virgin), is a parish in Chelmsford district, Essex; on the river Chelmer, near the Eastern Counties railway, it is 2 miles N of Chelmsford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Broomfield Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1546
1546
1546
Images 1546-1997 EssexAncestors[2] 1546-1933 EssexAncestors[2] 1546-1962 EssexAncestors[2]
Indexes 1547-1754 findmypast[3] 1546-1929 findmypast[4]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241364.

Poor Law Unions

Chelmsford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted: access date 10 May 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:49.
  • This page has been accessed 6,909 times.