Broughton, HuntingdonshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png HuntingdonshireGotoarrow.png Huntingdonshire Parishes

Broughton, Huntingdonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hurstingstone
County Huntingdonshire
Poor Law Union St Ives PLU
Registration District St Ives
Records begin
Parish registers: 1572
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery St Ives
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of Lincoln and of the Archdeacon in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon
Location of Archive
Huntingdonshire Record Office

For other places with the same name see Broughton

Guide to Broughton, Huntingdonshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Broughton, is a parish in St. Ives district, Huntingdonshire, 4½ miles W of Somersham railway station, and 5 miles NE of Huntingdon. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Broughton, Huntingdonshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

HUNT = Huntingdonshire Burials (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
Broughton, Huntingdonshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
HUNT

1572-1900
IGI 1785-1787, 1800-1800s
NBI

1572-1900

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288835.

Poor Law Unions

St Ives Poor Law Union, Huntingdonshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2. Date accessed: 13 August 2013.
  2. 'Huntingdonshire Burials,' FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 26 April 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Huntingdon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  4. 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 15:55.
  • This page has been accessed 1,029 times.