Broughton, Peeblesshire, ScotlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Peeblesshire Gotoarrow.pngBroughton

Broughton (#758)


This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Broughton. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.

For other places with the same name see Broughton

Contents

History

BROUGHTON, GLENHOLM, and KILBUCHO, a parish, in the county of Peebles; containing Glenholm and Broughton, 2 miles (N. N. W.) from Rachan Mill. This parish is bounded on the east and south by the river Tweed, and consists of the whole of the ancient parishes of Broughton and Glenholm, and the greater portion of that of Kilbucho. The church, which is situated in the district of Kilbucho, and nearly in the centre of the parish, is a plain substantial edifice, erected in 1804, and adapted for a congregation of 500 persons. A place of worship has been erected in connexion with the Free Church.[1]


The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/.  Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for Broughton.  Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about Scotland Census Records.

Click here for a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Broughton.

Below is information for any known surname indexes:

 

Years Surname Index          
1841 941.46/B1 X2m 1841
1851 941.46/B1 X2m 1851
1861 941.46/B1 X2m 1861
1871
1881 6086640 ( 1 fiche)
1891

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about Scotland Church Records.

Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.

Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Years Covered FHL Fillm Number
Births: 1697-1854 1067905 items 1-2
Marriages: 1697-1854 1067905 items 1-2
Deaths: 1828-1854 1067905 items 1-2

Condition of Original Registers—

Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index on computer at the Family History Library and family history centers. Some records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index. 
Births: There are no birth entries March 1701–February 1704, except one, April 1745–March 1748. Births are incomplete July 1752–August 1769 with only one entry from August 1761–March 1768. Mothers' names are not recorded until 1763.
Marriages: There are only nine marriage entries on a single page, the last one dated August 1701. There are no more entries until 1828.
Deaths: No deaths are recorded until 1828.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.


Established Church—Kirk Session Records


The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:
 

Minutes - Broughton 1697–1732, 1735–1793, 1804
Minutes - Glenholm 1703–1714, 1749–1776,
Accounts - Broughton 1771–1807
Accounts - Glenholm 1764–1829
Accounts 1843–1869
Cash
Accounts 1813–1830
Miscellaneous Accounts 1813–1835
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/44.



Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

 


Broughton Free Church

History—
Although the minister of the parish remained with the Established Church in 1843, some parish members left to form a congregation of the Free Church. At first, the Presbytery appointed assessors to the session, but soon local elders were elected and ordained. The congregation met in the Rachan barn until 1844 when a church was built. It was later remodeled in 1892.
Membership: 1848, 260; 1900, 152.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details are given in the source.

Records—
Extent of the records is unknown.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.

See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records


Broughton was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Peebles until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Peebles. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Peebles and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Peebles.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Peebles. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Peebles and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

Return to the Peeblesshire parish list.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 151-163. Adapted. Date accessed: 06 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 February 2014, at 17:59.
  • This page has been accessed 1,057 times.