Broughton, WrexhamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki


For other places with the same name see Broughton

A guide to genealogy in Broughton, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Broughton (Welsh: Brychdyn) is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in the County Borough of Wrexham in Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Denbighshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Clwyd. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of County Borough of Wrexham.

The community is made up of the villages of Southsea, Brynteg, Caego, New Broughton, Pentre Broughton, Lodge and Moss.



BROUGHTON a joint township with Brymbo in that part of the parish of Wrexham which is in the hundred of Bromfield, county of Denbigh. This township and its vicinity abound with rich and extensive mines of coal, lead, and iron ore, &c., and various establishments, on a very large scale, have for a considerable number of years been employed in working them. .....That remarkable monument of Saxon industry, Clawdd Offa, or Offa's Dyke, passes through this township, crossing near Brymbo Hall, where it has been levelled for the formation of rail-roads in connexion with the collieries and iron-works.[1]

The parish of Broughton was created on 15 February 1909, from part of the township of Broughton, in Brymbo] parish. Prior to 1844 the area had been part of the ancient parish of Wrexham.The area was formerly heavily industrialised with rich and extensive deposits of coal, lead, and iron ore.The parish church of St. Paul's, was built in 1889. A mission church, St. Peter's, was opened in 1895.On 7 May 1921, a small part of the parish was transferred to the new parish of Southsea.

For more information on Broughton see:


Years County
before 31 March 1974 Denbighshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd
from 1 April 1996 Wrexham

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 104271.

The parish of Wrexham, and later the parish of Broughton, formed part of the Wrexham Registrar's District.

Year Parts
1841 missing
1851 HO107/2503 folios 746-815 & 827-829
1861 RG9/4285 folios 50 & 85-95
RG9/4286 folios 1-72
1871 RG10/5655 folios 31-end
RG10/5656 folio 75
RG10/5658 folios 109-111 & 121
1881 RG11/5516 folios 1-103
RG115520 folios 102-104 & 120
1891 RG12/4615 folios 1-98
RG12/4619 folios 96-98 & 113
1901 RG13/

Church Records


Nonconformist Church Records


Civil Records

Births, marriages and deaths in Broughton are recorded in the GRO indexes as:

Years Sub-district District Volumes
1 Jul 1837 - 1974 Wrexham Wrexham XXVII (1837-51)
11b (1852-1946)
8A (1946-74)

Poor Law Union

The Wrexham Union was created on 30 March 1837 and the parish of Wrexham, and later the parish of Broughton, formed part of this. A workhouse was built at Croesnewydd in Wrexham. The records of the Wrexham Union are now held at Denbighshire Record Office in Ruthin.



See also





  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 September 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:17.
  • This page has been accessed 4,048 times.