Broughton Astley, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  LeicestershireGotoarrow.png  Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Brouthton Astley, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Broughton Astley, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Guthlaxton
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Lutterworth PLU
Registration District Lutterworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1581
Bishop's Transcripts: 1583
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Guthlaxton
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BROUGHTON-ASTLEY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Lutterworth, hundred of Guthlaxton, S. division of the county of Leicester, 5½ miles (N. by W.) from Lutterworth. Besides the parish church, there is a place of worship for Baptists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Broughton Astley, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Broughton Astley, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1692-1910
1692-1935
1692-1935

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438746.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 409-412. Date accessed: 17 August 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 25 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 June 2015, at 19:37.
  • This page has been accessed 2,018 times.