Brymbo, WrexhamEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
"A joint township with Broughton in that part of the parish of Wrexham which is in the hundred of Bromfield, county of Denbigh, north Wales, 5 miles (N. by N.W.) from Wrexham, containing 1116 inhabitants. ..... " [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833, Samuel Lewis]
For more information see Brymbo at Genuki
|before 31 March 1974||Denbighshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Clwyd|
|from 1 April 1996,||Wrexham|
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 104268. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
The parish of Wrexham, and later the parish of Brymbo, formed part of the Wrexham Registrar's District.
Nonconformist Church Records
The following records have been published:
|Gyfynus Independent||Clwyd FHS Blackwell Index CD||1827-1837|
|Harwd Calvinistic Methodist||Clwyd FHS Blackwell Index CD||1829-1837|
|Harwd Calvinistic Methodist||C101341||1829-1837|
Births, marriages and deaths in Brymbo are recorded in the GRO indexes as:
|1 Jul 1837 - 1974||Wrexham||Wrexham|| XXVII (1837-51)|
Poor Law Union
The Wrexham Union was created on 30 March 1837 and the parish of Wrexham, and later the parish of Brymbo, formed part of this. A workhouse was built at Croesnewydd in Wrexham. The records of the Wrexham Union are now held at Denbighshire Record Office in Ruthin.
- This page was last modified on 17 August 2013, at 14:02.
- This page has been accessed 1,546 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More