Brynford, FlintshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngFlintshire Gotoarrow.pngBrynford

A guide to genealogy in Brynford, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; ...

Brynford (Welsh: Brynffordd) is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Flintshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Flintshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Clwyd. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Flintshire.

Contents

History

"BRYNFORD, a township in Holywell parish, and a chapelry in Holywell and Ysceifiog parishes, Flint. The township lies near the town and r. station of Holywell. Real property, £2,919; of which £700 are in mines. The chapelry was constituted in 1854. Post Town, Holywell. Pop., 910. Houses, 199." [Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72, John Marius Wilson]

For more information on Brynfford see: Genuki - Brynford

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Flintshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd
from 1 April 1996 Flintshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.

  • FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 June 2013, at 16:40.
  • This page has been accessed 274 times.