Bubikon parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Bubikon parish

Guide to Bubikon parish, Zürich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Bubikon

Aufgent
Barenberg
Bergli
Berglihöhe
Berlikon
Blumenberg
Brach
Brandlen
Brändliacker
Bubikon
Bühl
Bürg
Engelberg
Feissi
Friedheim
Fuchsbühl
Geissberg
Giessen

Grundtal
Gstein
Heerschären
Hinteracker
Hinter-Dienstbach
Homburg
Hüebeli
Hüsli
Kämmoos
Knebel
Lanzacker
Laufenriet
Lochrüti
Loo
Mettlen
Mürg
Neuacker
Neugut

Neuhaus
Ober-Pösch
Ober-Rennweg
Ober-Wechsel
Ober-Wolfhausen
Oele
Platte
Reitbach
Ritterhaus
Rosengarten
Rüeggshausen
Rüteli
Rutschberg
Schachen
Schlossberg
Schürwies
Schwarz
Sennschür

Sonnenberg
Sonnenhof
Sonnental
Taffleten
Talhof
Unter-Pösch
Unter-Rennweg
Unter-Wechsel
Vorder-Dienstbach
Wanne
Weinhalde
Weisshalde
Wendhüslen
Widerzell
Wiedenswil
Wolfhausen
Zelgwies
Zell

Surrounding Parishes

Dürnten
Gossau
Grüningen
Hinwil
Hombrechtikon
Jona (Sankt Gallen)
Rüti

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Bubikon:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 3 563
1637 1185142 1 265
1640 1185144 2 461
1643 1185146 2 511
1650 1185150 2 651
1663 1185179 2 369
1670 1185154 1 895
1678 1185157 2 153
1683 1185159 2 461
1690 1185163 2 415
1696 1185167 1 813
1709 1185172 1 713
1760 1185175 2 489

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Bubikon families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Bubikon belongs to the Rüti civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt
Breitenhofstrasse 30
CH-8630 Rüti

Tel: +41 55 251 33 40

email: zivilstandsamt@rueti.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Bubikon prior to 1875:

Bauert
Baumann
Bickel
Boller
Brändli
Bregg (1821, from
    Germany)
Bühler
Bürgi (1868)
Corrodi
Diener
Frei
Frey

Graf (1812, Germany)
Gretler
Gujer
Hägni
Halbheer
Hess
Heusser
Hirzel
Hofmann
Honegger
Hottinger
Hotz
Huber

Hürlimann
Hug
Kägi
Knecht
Kündig
Lätsch
Letsch
Maurer
Meier
Meyer
Muggli
Näf
Pfister

Pünter
Schaufelberger
Scheppler (1862)
Schulthess
Staub
Wartmann (from
    Hittnau)
Weber
Wild
Wirz
Wolf
Zangger (from Egg)
Zollinger

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 February 2015, at 23:44.
  • This page has been accessed 755 times.