Buchanan County, IowaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Buchanan County

Guide to Buchanan County Iowa genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records


Buchanan County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Buchanan County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 21, 1837
County Seat Independence
Courthouse
Address Buchanan County Courthouse
210 N. 5th Ave NE
Independence, IA 50644-1959 Phone:(319) 334-2196
Buchanan County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Clerk District Court has Birth and Death Records from 1880, Marriage Records from 1848, Divorce, Probate and Clerk Records from 1845.


History

Parent County

1837--Buchanan County was created 21 December 1837 from Dubuque County.  It was attached to Dubuque and Delaware Counties prior to organization 4 October 1847.  County seat:  Independence[1]

Buchanan County History

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

For a list of cities and townships go to hometownlocator.com or wikipedia.org.

♦ Aurora ♦ Brandon FHLC ♦ Bryantsburg ♦ Chatham ♦ Doris ♦ Fairbank ♦ Gatesville ♦ Hamerville ♦ Hazleton FHLC ♦ Independence FHLC ♦ Jesup ♦ Lamont FHLC♦ Littleton ♦ Monti ♦ Otterville ♦ Quasqueton ♦ Rowley ♦ Shady Grove ♦ Stanley ♦ Vista ♦ Winthrop FHLC ♦ Wise

Buchanan County Townships

♦ Buffalo ♦ Byron ♦ Cono ♦ Fremont ♦ Homer ♦ Jefferson ♦ Liberty ♦ Madison ♦ Middlefield ♦ Newton ♦ Perry ♦ Sumner ♦ Washington ♦ Westburg

Neighboring Counties

Benton • Black Hawk • Bremer • Clayton • Delaware • Fayette • Linn

Buchanan CountyDelaware CountyJones CountyLinn CountyBenton CountyTama CountyBlack Hawk CountyBremer CountyChickasaw CountyFayette CountyClayton CountyDubuque CountyJackson CountyClinton CountyCedar CountyJohnson CountyIowa CountyPoweshiek CountyGrundy CountyButler CountyFloyd CountyWinneshiek CountyAllamakee CountyGrant CountyCrawford CountyIABuchanan.JPG

Resources

Biographies

  • Many Biography records for Buchanan County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.


Burials

WPA 1930's Graves Registration Survey

Cemeteries

Census

Iowa recorded not only the federal census but state census through out the years too. The state census contains very valuable genealogical information. Where the census information can be found, what years it was taken, mortality schedules, census substitutions and much more is discussed in the very informative Iowa Census article.

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.

Lutheran

Aurora

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Aurora, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Independence

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Independence, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

  • Many Court records for Buchanan County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic detailsfrom their catalog.
  • Many Guardianship records for Buchanan County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.


Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

  • Many Plat Book records for Buchanan County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.
  • Many Land and Property records for Buchanan County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.

Local Histories 

Local histories are available for Buchanan County, Iowa. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.

  • Many Local History records for Buchanan County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Buchanan County, Iowa served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Buchanan County, Iowa:

- 4th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company B
- 5th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company G
- 27th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies C and H
- 47th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company D
- 27th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
:- 27th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
:- 47th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company D
:- 4th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry,
:- 5th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
:- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company G

Naturalization and Citizenship

  • Many Naturalization and Citizenship records for Buchanan County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.

Newspapers

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives

Obituaries

  • Buchanan County, Iowa Obituaries
  • Many Obituary records for Buchanan County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.


Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The Family History Library Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Buchanan - Probate records.

  • Many Probate records for Buchanan County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog..

Schools

Taxation

  • Buchanan County Tax Roll 1862
  • Many Taxation records for Buchanan County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..


Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Buchanan County, Iowa
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "buchanan county" placed in search box
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "buchanan county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "buchanan county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Project Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Buchanan County, Iowa
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Buchanan County, Iowa
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Buchanan County, Iowa
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Buchanan Hawk County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Buchanan Hawk County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 July 2014, at 19:31.
  • This page has been accessed 11,781 times.