Buckhurst Hill, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Buckhurst Hill, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Buckhurst Hill, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Buckhurst Hill, Essex
Buckhurst Hill St John the Baptist Essex.jpg
Buckhurst Hill St John the Baptist Essex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ongar
County Essex
Poor Law Union Epping PLU
Registration District Epping
Records begin
Parish registers: 1837; For more records see Chigwell
Bishop's Transcripts: 1837
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lambourne
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

BUCKHURST, is a chapelry in Chigwell and Loughton parishes, Essex; on the Eastern Counties railway, it is adjacent to Epping forest, 9¾ miles NE of Bishopsgate, London. It has a station, by the name of Buckhurst Hill, on the railway, and a post office, by the name of the name of Buckhurst under Woodford, London, N. E. There is an Independent chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Buckhurst Hill St John the Baptist Parish
Online Buckhurst Hill St John the Baptist Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1837
1838
1837
Images 1837-1946 EssexAncestors[2] 1838-1947 EssexAncestors[2] 1837-1950 EssexAncestors[2]
Indexes
Buckhurst Hill St Stephen Parish
Online Buckhurst Hill St Stephen Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1874
.
.
Images 1874-1946 EssexAncestors[2]
Indexes
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241374.


Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Buckhurst Hill on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted: access date 7 June 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 14:29.
  • This page has been accessed 7,663 times.