Buckland St Mary, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png SomersetGotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Contents

Parish History

BUCKLAND, WEST (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Wellington, W. division of the hundred of Kingsbury, locally in that of Taunton and TauntonDean, W. division of Somerset, 2¾ miles (E.) from Wellington. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Buckland St Mary, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[8]
BUCKLAND ST MARY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1538-1812

FREG 1541-1641, 1663-1670, 1706-1911
1538-1896
1538-1640, 1663-1670, 1706-1911
FS
1538-1812

JOIN
1537-1837

NBI

1599-1882
PALL
1790-1812

SOPC 1599-1617
1599-1618
1599-1617

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474592.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848. Date accessed and adapted: 14 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014. See also 'Commonwealth Marriages.'
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  5. Somerset Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 04:00.
  • This page has been accessed 1,062 times.