Buckminster, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Buckminster, Leicestershire)

England Gotoarrow.png  LeicestershireGotoarrow.pngLeicestershire Parishes

Guide to Buckminster, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Buckminster, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Framland
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Melton Mowbray
Registration District Melton Mowbray
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1580
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Framland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office


Parish History

BUCKMINSTER (St. John the Baptist), a parish in the union of Melton-Mowbray, hundred of Framland, N. division of the county of Leicester, 9¼ miles(E. N. E.) from Melton-Mowbray.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Buckminster, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1538-1910

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Buckminster Bap 1538 - 1575; 1585 - 1916 Marr 1538 - 1575; 1585 - 1837 (banns to 1921) Bur 1538 - 1575; 1585 - 1881

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438740.

Poor Law Unions

Melton Mowbray Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. From: Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 420-424. Date accessed: 17 August 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 25 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 June 2015, at 19:39.
  • This page has been accessed 2,002 times.