Bulcote, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Bulcote, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Bulcote Holy Trinity, Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Southwell PLU|
|Parish registers: 1841; For more records see Burton Joyce|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
BULCOTE, a chapelry, in the parish of BurtonJoyce, union of Southwell, S. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton and of the county of Nottingham, 6 miles (N. E. by E.) from Nottingham. The tithes were commuted for land in 1768.
Bulcote Holy Trinity was built in 1862 to replace the former 13th century chapelry of Burton Joyce, Nottinghamshire Ancient parish on the site.
Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the history of the church Bulcote Holy Trinity
The church of Holy Trinity, a chapel of ease, has been designated as a grade II listed building by English Heritage British listed building
The village and civil parish of Bulcote are 7 miles north east of Nottingham City Centre.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Bulcote, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Bulcote, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Bulcote Holy Trinity
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Marriages 1841-1902 Bishop's Transcripts 1813-1839
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bulcote
Bulcote Monumental Inscriptions. An alphabetical listing by surname, given name, date of death, and sometimes showing relationship, and age - transcription of the Bulcote Gravestones, dated from 1739. Transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 18, pages 16-17, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 1 June 2015, at 13:33.
- This page has been accessed 2,755 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News