Bulmer, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Bulmer, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.pngEssex Parishes 

Guide to Bulmer, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bulmer, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hinckford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Sudbury PLU
Registration District Sudbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bulmer (St Andrew), is a parish and a subdistrict in the district of Sudbury and county of Essex. The parish lies on the verge of the county, near the river Stour and the Sudbury railway, it is 2 miles WSW of Sudbury.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Bulmer Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1556
1558
1559
Images 1559-1908 EssexAncestors[2] 1559-1957 EssexAncestors[2] 1559-1973 EssexAncestors[2]
Indexes 1556-1803 FamilySearch[3] 1558-1752 findmypast[4] 1559-1706 FreeREG[5]
1559-1707 FreeREG[5] 1559-1752 FamilySearch[6] 1559-1812 findmypast[7]
1559-1701 FreeREG[5]
1754-1837 Ancestry[8]
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241369.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Bulmer on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted: access date 10 May 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. Batch C043411, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  4. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 15 April 2012.
  6. Batch M043411, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.
  8. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 March 2015, at 14:43.
  • This page has been accessed 8,070 times.