Burgess Hill St John, Sussex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Burgess Hill St John, Sussex)

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex

Contents

Parish History

Burgess Hill St John the Evangelist is an Ecclesiastical parish formed to serve the development of Burgess Hill West Sussex.

A history of the Burgess Hill Church development is available at Sussex Parish Churches website Burgess Hill

Burgess Hill Wikipedia Burgess Hill West Sussex Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Burgess Hill St John, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[1]
Burgess Hill St John, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTS
1894-1901


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Burgess Hill The Family History Library has no parish register filming for this parish

Census records

See Sussex Census

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 January 2016, at 19:19.
  • This page has been accessed 1,359 times.