Burke County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Burke County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Burke County, Georgia|
Location in the state of Georgia
|Founded||February 5, 1777|
|Address|| Burke County Courthouse|
111 E 6th Street
PO Box 89
Waynesboro, GA 30830
Burke County Website
1777--Burke County was created 5 February 1777 from St. George Parish. County seat: Waynesboro 
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
- GABurke A mailing list for anyone with a genealogical interest in Burke County, Georgia. (Rootsweb)
- GA-Roots A mailing list for anyone with a genealogical interest in Georgia. (Rootsweb)
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Burke County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Regiments. Service men in Burke County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Burke County, Georgia Genealogy:
- - 2nd Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- - 3rd Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- - 3rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- - 32nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and K
- - 48th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- - Military - Civil War - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
- Lee, Angela. 1996. Burke County, Georgia. Dover, N.H.: Arcadia. (Civil War see page 23 and 876) 975.865 H2L WorldCat
- Davis, Robert Scott. 1986. Georgians in the Revolution: at Kettle Creek (Wilkes Co.) and Burke County. Easley, South Carolina: Southern Historical Press. 975.8 M2 WorldCat
- United Daughters of the Confederacy. Margaret Jones Chapter (Burke County, Georgia). 1960. Confederate Cross of Honor certificates issued by Margaret Jones Chapter, United Daughters of the Confederacy, 1907-1916 [Burke County, Georgia]. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 222926 WorldCat
- Graybill, Tully. 1961. Letters of Tully Graybill, 1861-1906; muster roll of 28th Regiment Georg ia Volunteer Infantry. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 262705 WorldCat
- Cobb, Angela W. 1998. Roster of the Confederate Soldiers of Burke County, Georgia 1861-1865. Baltimore, Maryland: Gateway Press. 975.865 M2 also digital version WorldCat
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Burke County.
- Map showing Civil War battles in Georgia.
Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Burke County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- Burke County, Georgia Will transcriptions at GAGenWeb - free.
- 1856-1930 - Browsable index of testators of wills. SAMPUBCO- free.
- Burke County, Georgia Wills 1855-1858 (Digital Images) Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Burke County, Georgia Miscellaneous Wills and Estates Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Index to Burke County Annual Returns 1859-1868 Georgia Pioneers ($)
- Burke County, Georgia Will transcriptions at GAGenWeb - free.
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
1798 Burke County Slaveholders, First and Second Districts Georgia Pioneers
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..
- 1785 - 1950 Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1808 - 1967 Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch.org — index
1828 - 1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $ 1699 - 1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $
- 1855-1871 - Burke County Marriage Books 1 and 2 Index 1855-1871. Batch M712261 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1872-1876 - Burke County Marriage Book 3 Index 1872-1876. Batch M712262 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1877-1878 - Burke County Marriage Index 1877-1878. Batch M712263 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1877-1895 - Burke County Marriage Books 5 and 6 Index 1877-1895. Batch M712265 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1878-1879 - Burke County Marriage Index 1878-1879. Batch M712264 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1889-1900 - Burke County Marriage Books 7 and 8 Index 1889-1900. Batch M712266 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1933 - 1998 Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1914 - 1927 Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1928 - 1938 Georgia Deaths 1928-1938 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 - Burke County, Georgia Genealogy Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Burke County, GA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Georgia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Burke County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Burke County, Georgia. Page 152 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 16-17. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
|This Georgia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it.
While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List.
- This page was last modified on 8 May 2015, at 02:23.
- This page has been accessed 21,874 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News