Burnage St Margaret, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Contents

History

Burnage St Margaret was created as a chapelry in Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys, Lancashire Ancient parish and as an Ecclesiastical Parish in the Diocese of Manchester

Burnage St Margaret was created a chapel of ease in 1873, taken from and lying within the parish boundaries of Manchester ancient Parish.

The sandstone built parish Church of St. Margaret’s, Burnage, was consecrated on 15th March 1875 by the Bishop of Manchester.

The modern parish is within the Heaton Deanery of the Diocese.

BURNAGE, a township in Manchester parish, Lancashire; on the river Mersey, adjacent to the Manchester and Sheffield railway, 4 miles S of Manchester. Acres, 658. Real property, £3,741. Pop., 624. Houses, 120.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Burnage St Margaret, Lancashire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)][1]
FS =FamilySearch.org
LOPCLancashire Online Parish Clerk
FMP =  FMP = findmypast
LBMDLancashire BMD
Burnage St Margaret, Lancashire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1875-1930 1875-1930
LBMD None 1875-1985 None

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 


Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616

To view a full list of all (over 150) chapelries and district churches in the ancient parish of Manchester and their respective links to online transcriptions of their baptisms, marriages and burials, be sure to visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.

Parish registers for St. Margaret's, Burnage, 1873-1951 Microfilm of original records formerly held at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England.
Burnage is a township in Manchester parish
Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: M 612/1/1/1-2; M 612/1/2/1-7; M 612/1/3/1-4.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1873-1874.
FHL BRITISH Film
2356096 Item 1
Baptisms, 1875-1929. Marriages, 1875-June 1920.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2356094 Items 6 - 8
Marriages, June 1920-1951. Banns, 1875-1940.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2356095


Burnage- St Margaret
Banns- 1875-1940- MFPR 2025
Baptisms-1873-1874- MFPR 2026
Baptisms-1874-1929- MFPR 1595 or MFPR 2022
Baptisms-1929-1956- MFPR 1595
Marriages-1875-1920- MFPR 1596 or MFPR 2022
Marriages-1920-1943- MFPR 1596 or MFPR 2025
Marriages-1943-1950- MFPR 1597 or MFPR 2025
Marriages-1950-1955- MFPR 1597

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438732.

Poor Law Unions


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
England Jurisdictions 1851

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

http://www.achurchnearyou.com/burnage-st-margaret/ for information about the parish

http://stmargaret.co.uk/home.htm parish website

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Manchester/St-Margarets-Burnage-Mc/118242884860170 Facebook page for the parish

British History online

References


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 23:30.
  • This page has been accessed 720 times.