Burnage St Nicholas, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Contents

History

Burnage St Nicholas was created in the 1930's as an Ecclesiastical parish in the Diocese of Manchester

Built in 1931-2 by Welch, Cachemaille-Day & Lander.  Pevsner described it as "a milestone in the history of modern church architecture in England".

St.Nicholas Church is a Grade II* listed building.

It is the first church designed by the architect Nugent Francis Cachemaille Day.

In 1931 The foundation stone was laid. The ‘old’ hall was built and used for services.

In 1932 the building was completed at a cost of £11,600.

Burnage St Nicholas contributor S Parish.jpg



Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop's Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Parish registers for St. Nicholas' Church, Burnage, 1930-1952 Microfilm of original records formerly held at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England.
Burnage is a township in Manchester parish
Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: M 651.

Content
Film
Marriages, 1930-1951. Banns, 1930-1952.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2356095 Items 2 - 5

Burnage- St Nicholas
Banns-1930-1952- MFPR 2026
Baptisms-1929-1989- Archives M651
Marriages-1930-1950- MFPR 2026
Marriages-1950-1981- Archives M651

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Census records

Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Poor Law Unions


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
England Jurisdictions 1851

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 April 2014, at 03:14.
  • This page has been accessed 429 times.