Burnham Westgate, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Burnham Westgate, Norfolk
St Mary Burnham Westgate.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brothercross
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Docking PLU
Registration District Docking
Records begin
Parish records: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Burnham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BURNHAM-MARKET, or Burnham-Westgate(St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Brothercross, W. division of Norfolk, 36½miles (N. W.) from Norwich, and 120 (N. N. E.) from London. [1]

Burnham Westgate St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich. St Mary's church as we see it today, dates mainly from the 14th century, the tower having been built in around 1310. The church was extensively restored in the 19th century but has retained its original font.

Burnham Market is a village and civil parish near the north coast of Norfolk, England. Burnham Market is one of the Burnhams, a group of adjacent villages in North Norfolk. It is the result of the merger of three of the original Burnham villages, namely Burnham Sutton, Burnham Ulph and Burnham Westgate.

Burnham Market lies approximately 1 mile (2 km) inland, some 5 miles (8 km) west of Wells-next-the-Sea, 12 miles (19 km) east of Hunstanton and 10 miles (16 km) north of Fakenham. The smaller villages of Burnham Deepdale and Burnham Norton are within 2 miles (3 km) to the west and north of Burnham Market, whilst Burnham Overy and Burnham Thorpe are a similar distance to the east. North Creake is some 4 miles (6 km) to the south. The larger town of King's Lynn is 20 miles (30 km) to the south-west, whilst the city of Norwich is 30 miles (50 km) to the south-east.

For the purposes of local government, the parish falls within the district of King's Lynn and West Norfolk.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Burnham Westgate, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
Burnham Westgate, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1538-1901
1538-1902
1538-1901
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1713, 1716-1901 Undefined 1538-1713, 1716-1902 Undefined 1538-1713, 1716-1901
JOIN
1813-1837

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 288

Parish registers Microfilm copy of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich, England.

Item 1 Baptisms 1538-1713 Marriages 1539-1640, 1661-1713 Burials 1538-1646, 1660-1713 Item 2 Baptisms and burials 1716-1765 Marriages 1724-1765 Item 3 Baptisms and burials 1766-1812 Item 4 Baptisms 1813-1847 Item 5 Baptisms 1847-1901 Item 6 Marriages and banns 1754-1812 Item 7 Marriages 1813-1837 Item 8 Marriages 1837-1902 Items 9-10 Burials 1813-1901 FHL BRITISH Film 1565792 Items 1-10

Archdeacons transcripts, 1725-1812

Baptisms, burials and marriages 1725-1812 FHL BRITISH Film 1526789 Item 20

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438849.




Poor Law Unions

Docking Poor Law Union, Norfolk

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax Records

1597 Subsidy Taxes: Transcribed by Geoff Lowe and housed by Norfolk Transcription Archives

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 440-445. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:57.
  • This page has been accessed 1,049 times.