Burnsall, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Burnsall, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Staincliff and Ewcross|
|Poor Law Union||Skipton PLU|
|Parish registers: 1559; Separate registers exist for Rylstone with Conistone beginning 1559 and for Conistone beginning 1567|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601; Separate records exist for Rylstone with Conistone beginning 1636 and for Conistone beginning 1636|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
BURNSALL (St. Wilfrid), a parish, in the union of Skipton, E. division of the wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, W. riding of York, 9½ miles (N. N. E.) from Skipton; containing 2726 inhabitants, of whom 284 are in the township of Burnsall with Thorpe-subMontem. The parish comprises the townships of Appletree-wick, Burnsall with Thorpe-sub-Montem, Cracoe, Hartlington, and Hetton with Boardley; and the chapelries of Rilston, and Coniston with Kilnsay.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Burnsall exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FMP= FindMyPast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|BURNSALL PARISH (1559) Online Records|
List of Chapelry's in this Parish
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Burnsall to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BURNSALL PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1559.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464270.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 5 May 2015, at 12:30.
- This page has been accessed 4,274 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More