Burton le Coggles, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Burton le Coggles, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burton le Coggles, Lincolnshire
St+Thomas+a+Becket Burton-le-Coggles Lincolnshire.JPG
St+Thomas+a+Becket Burton-le-Coggles Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Beltisloe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Grantham
Registration District Grantham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1565
Bishop's Transcripts: 1651
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Beltisloe
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office


Parish History

BURTON-COGGLES (St. Thomas à Becket), a parish, in the union of Grantham, wapentake of Beltisloe, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 1¾ mile (W. N. W.) from Corby; containing 260 inhabitants. The Ancient Parish of Burton le Coggles (from Burton-en-le-Coggles) is a small village and a civil parish (called Burton Coggles). [1]

The Parish church of St Thomas a Becket is known within Diocesan records as St Thomas of Canterbury.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing effforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Burton Coggles Par 1 will identify available images.
Search FamilySearch Catalogue Burton le Coggles

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438756.

Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Grantham Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Genuki Burton Coggles


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 448-452. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 April 2015, at 23:43.
  • This page has been accessed 3,451 times.